Tags

, , , ,

If you read my last post, you’ll recall that I’m not the world’s biggest fan of crochet. The only reason I braved the impossible craft is because I love my sister Joy very much and I decided that she NEEDED to have Gigi Giraf to keep her company at grad school. Fortunately, me and my dread were pleasantly surprised.

Can you believe I crocheted that? Me neither. I mean, the pattern had in it’s favor that it was worked in the infinitely-forgiving round, but still. Look how cute she is!

Even more surprising was how much I enjoyed making her. I mean, there’s an unholy amount of sewing, but I haven’t found many toy patterns (knitting included) in which this isn’t the case. Also, I had forgotten how quickly crochet works up. It took me only slightly more time to make this giraffe (about eight inches tall) than it did to make Cho’s elephant a few weeks ago, and the elephant only stands about an inch and a half tall.

Better still, I learned a most excellent technique that I will now be searching for the knit equivalent of: making an adjustable ring. So simple, so slick. So easy to cinch tight after you get going. Even if you think you hate crochet, you should make one or two spots from this (free!) giraffe pattern just so you can appreciate this technique.

What are you still here for? Go dust off your hooks, people!

