Tags

, ,

I forgot my knitting when I went to visit my folks last week. My mother, a newer knitter who has caught the fever in a bad way, took pity on me and bought me a few skeins of yarn.

I’m pleased with what I came up with for one of the skeins, particularly because I finished with just barely a yard left. I love it when project yardage works out so perfectly. And I think I’m a new fan of cowls over scarves because (a) they stay out of the way and (b) they take less time and yarn to make.

This pattern is almost too simple to bother writing up, but if you’re looking for a pleasant, mindless project that’s great for relaxing, this one might be a good fit.

Basketweave Cowl

Basketweave cowl

Materials:

  • Cascade Yarns Quatro, 220 yd. / 100 g. (1 skein)
  • U.S. size 8 16″ circular needle

Gauge:

5 st / 5 rows = 1″ in Stockinette stitch

Pattern:

CO 48

  • Row 1: (k4, p4) repeat across.
  • Row 2: (p4, k4) repeat across.
  • Repeat rows 1 & 2 once.
  • Row 5: (p4, k4) repeat across.
  • Row 6: (k4, p4) repeat across.
  • Repeat rows 5 & 6 once.
  • Repeat rows 1-8 until work measures 24 inches, ending with a row 8.

Sew ends together.

On the top edge, pick up one stitch for each row. Working in the round, *k2, s1, k1, psso. Slip these three stitches back onto the left needle and repeat from * around. When 3 stitches remain, break yarn and pull through. Sew in ends. Repeat i-cord on bottom.

