Tags

, , ,

A while back, John and I went out to Acker’s Acres to meet Beth and her angoras, who were just at the beginning of a breeding season. Yesterday, Sarah and I were able to meet the kits who were just twinkles in their mothers’ eyes. They’re only six weeks old, so not old enough to take home yet (which is good, because the rabbitat is not yet built), but old enough that you can see what coats they’ll have and distinguish their genders.

Beth had a few male fawns that were a bit older–I met them on my last visit. Male rabbits are harder to find homes for because you only really need one to get a rabbitry going. They were so sweet though, and I just couldn’t help agreeing to give this guy a home.

My First Angora

He was due for a grooming, so Beth used him to demonstrate some basic grooming techniques. His first useful coat was also ready to be harvested, so I got to see exactly what he’ll be producing and how easily it comes off. I’m glad that these rabbits can be plucked instead of shorn–seems like plucking is a lower risk entry to gathering bunny wool.

We couldn't believe how cool he was with being held like this.

We couldn’t believe how cool he was with being held like this.

I had the darndest time choosing my second rabbit from the younger batch. I adored this tiny little bunny. She was from a litter of ten, and all of the kits in her litter were a little smaller. She was definitely a snuggler.

The doe we didn't take.

One of her little sisters, the runt, had escaped just before Sarah and I showed up, and we had a grand old time helping Beth round up the clever little adventuress. If anyone ever asks you how long it takes three grown women to chase one bunny, the answer is WAY longer than you’d think.

This is the bunny we ended up deciding on in the end, and she’s the niece to the male rabbit. Apparently inbreeding is a done thing when you’re dealing with rabbits, though, because Beth said we could breed them together if we wanted to.

Sarah and  6 week old REW Doe we did choose

Not sure I’ll be up for breeding them anytime soon–that’s a more difficult endeavor that would benefit from a degree in rabbit genetics. All of that is far more complicated than it seems like it ought to be, but fortunately, Sarah (aka Queen of Overthunk Things) has taken an interest in both rabbit behavior and genetics, so I can pretty much count on plenty of help raising those rabbits right.

Our date to pick them up is tentatively May 31st, so keep you eyes open for more fuzzy bunny pictures soon!

