Tags

, , ,

While I was trotting about West Virginia with my sister this summer, my mother and I dragged her into The Needlecraft Barn, a little yarn shop in Morgantown. They’re very small as far as yarn selection goes, but I was pleased with what I found there overall, and what’s more, the owner was super helpful and incredibly nice.

While my sister was waiting with infinite patience for Mom and I to stop pawing up the goods and drooling over the local hand-dyed, handspun skeins, she noticed a sample project sitting on the table: a bright pink variation on Plymouth Yarn’s Spiral Rainbow Hat. She fell promptly in love, so for her patience with us, I promised to make her one.

N00b Spiral Hat

This is the hat, obviously not modeled on my sister. 🙂

It was the absolute perfect hat for me to knit last week because I was attacked by a vicious head cold immediately following our return from Niagara Falls. (I swear, I don’t usually jaunt all over the place–this is five years worth of vacation traveling. Life is about to get sane and boring again.) There is almost nothing but stockinette and reverse stockinette going on with this thing, but that little else make this a PERFECT project for new knitters.

Teachers, take note…this is a great opportunity to introduce:

  • Provisional cast-on
  • Kitchener stitch
  • Fun geometry! (You take a parallelogram and turn it into a partially spherical tube, how cool is that?)
  • Gauge and size (not necessary to learn for the project, but it would be super easy to size this down for a baby hat, making it a great option for the Click for Babies project)

Regarding yarn: Joy picked out the electric blue Plymouth Encore. I don’t have anything awesome to say about it, but it could be worse. It’s mostly acrylic and it’s cheap, making it a great choice for people who lose and abuse their hats. It doesn’t have a super nice hand, but it’s got enough spring to be tolerable, and maybe the 25% wool is enough to make it reasonably warm?

Given my druthers, I’d probably have picked a superwash 100% wool and done it in two colors, varying the stockinette reverse stockinette. Next time around!

