Tags

, , , ,

That’s a hiccup slipper, a slipPIPper. Say it out loud, go ahead. Are you giggling yet? Hrm. Maybe I need to lay off the mimosas when I’m knitting. Might lead to a few less hiccups in my slippers anyway. Don’t look at the pattern stitch too closely.

SlipPIPpers

Anywho…

I’ve been playing around with the Must-Try Stitch Sampler Slippers from the Summer 2013 Creative Knitting and I LOVE them as a Christmas present. Why?

  • Super easy and fast!
  • The principle works with just about any stitch you want to mess with.
  • Hello, sexy use of i-cord!

This is also one pattern I like acrylic for (my favorite is Caron’s Simply Soft) because it wears pretty well and doesn’t tend to pill as badly with multiple washings and abusive use, which is what I need in a slipper. Two strands held together in a light worsted makes a pretty sturdy fabric and, of course, acrylic is cheap enough that I can afford to make these for ALL THE PEOPLE.

Regarding the i-cord, I can’t stress enough how I love this. I hate doing i-cord that I then have to go back and attach. It’s boring and stupid. I LOVE magical i-cord that gets worked into the edge of something as you go, making it look all purty.

I’m going to make the next pair up using the Bee Stitch, which I think will make them thick and fluffy. I haven’t done the gauge or the decreases for the toe, but here’s the stitch with the i-cord.

Cast on a multiple of 2 + 7 stitches.

  • Row 1 & 3: k to last 3 stitches, slip 3 purlwise with yarn in front
  • Row 2: k4, *k1b, k1, repeat from * to last 3, slip 3 purlwise with yarn in front
  • Row 4: k5, k1b, *k1, k1b, repeat from * to last 3, slip 3 purlwise with yarn in front

k1b means knit 1 below. The link for the Bee Stitch above has a video demonstrating the technique if you’re not familiar with it.

