Tags

, , ,

I’ve been on unintentional hiatus because (a) National Novel Writing Month…in which I added about 42,000 words to a current writing project, (b) Thanksgiving…I hosted this year, (c) flu season…you try being productive while dealing with intense fatigue, a swollen uvula, and chest pain, (d) peak gift-making season is upon us, and (e) I’ve been trying to switch this blog over to my fancy-pants new website…more on that in a few weeks, I hope.

I am trying my best to get you a new pattern during the holiday season.

Christmas Stocking_6

I made John a stocking last year. I should have written the pattern up then, but I got busy…you know how it is. I am deep in the midst of deciphering shorthand that I no longer remember how to interpret. A free copy will be available to anyone on my email list when I publish it–notes from test knitters welcome!

In the meantime, go raid your stash for whatever skin-soft worsted weight you’ve got lying around and make a pair of these Annabella fingerless gloves.

IMG_1501

I think I whipped these up in two evenings flat. They are delightful. I love everything about the pattern. It’s dead simple in a perfectly thoughtful way, from the curve the ribbing forms at the bottom to the excellent sizing of the thumb gusset. Look at the way the pattern opens up when you wear them:

Annabella Fingerless Gloves

Heck, you might as well make two pairs while you’re at it. One for a gift, one for yourself.

I used Caron Simply Soft because the recipient has a wool sensitivity. It’s an inexpensive yarn that tends to fuzz and loose stitch definition quite a bit with wash and wear, but it is certainly soft and the colors always make me happy.

