Tags

, , ,

I hate scarves. They are possibly the most boring project I could be asked to tackle. I have made two, and both filled me with such loathing that I swore, “Nevermore!”

And then, of course, I found a beautiful sunrise skein of “Silk Cloud” from Darn Good Yarn that just screamed my middle sister’s name. I had imagined making a sock yarn shawl from it, but Joy is not a fan of triangular shawls. She was, however, excited about the possibility of a scarf…

*Bangs head on table.*

Thank heaven above for Windermere. It is long and repetitive, but the lace is just complex enough that I’m into the second half without being nearly dead of boredom every time I pick it up. I’ve decided that it’s more appropriately classified as stole than a scarf, so I haven’t really broken my vow, right?

Windermere, a little past half done

Two things to note…

(1) It’s handy to have either a yarn scale if you’re working this pattern since the stole is worked from both ends and then grafted in the middle. I got in twelve repeats of the 16 row repeat before I got too close to the 50 grams for comfort, but I’m sure that varies wildly from yarn to yarn.

(2) Use lace-weight stitch markers. Cheap jump rings from a craft store’s jewelry section work really well. This is what it looks like if you use stitch markers that are too wide for the gauge of your project:

Gaps in Windermere

See those laddery bits on either side of the stockinette section? I’m hoping they’ll block out for such a small section, but I wouldn’t trust to that for the entire scarf.

Fun note: The designer describes this pattern as a variation on Tiger’s Eye lace. Perfect for the color, don’t you think?

Now let’s see if I can power through to get it done before Christmas…

 

